The Erasmus Mundus Scholarships are grants from the EU aimed at encouraging and enabling highly qualified graduate students from third countries to follow selected Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses in Europe for the duration of 1-2 years.

Funds are also available for scholars to carry out teaching or research assignments and scholarly work at the institutions participating in the Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses up to a maximum of 3 months.

WHO are eligible to participate?


  • A national of a third country;
  • Not a resident of any of the EU Member States;
  • Has not carried out his or her main activity (studies, work, etc) for more than a total of 12 months over the last 5 years in any of the EU Member States;
  • Has successfully accomplished an undergraduate degree. Persons having obtained a university degree of a higher academic level can also enrol in an Erasmus Mundus Masters Course, as long as the admission criteria for the particular course allows for this;
  • Has been accepted to register or is registered in an Erasmus Mundus Masters Course (see below on “HOW can I apply?”).


  • A national of a third country;
  • Not a resident of any of the EU Member States;
  • Has not carried out his or her main activity (studies, work, etc) for more than a total of 12 months over the last 5 years in any of the EU Member States;
  • Has outstanding academic and/or professional experience;
  • Scholars and professionals who lecture or conduct research.

WHAT does “third-country national” mean?

“Third-country nationals” are nationals coming from all countries other than:

  • The 28 EU Member States (Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, Sweden and the United Kingdom);
  • The EEA-EFTA states (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway);
  • Turkey, the Western Balkan countries (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo under UNSC Resolution 1244/99, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia) or Switzerland.

WHAT is an Erasmus Mundus Masters Course?
WHAT is its added value?

  • Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses are integrated study programmes at masters level (not for undergraduate and doctoral level) offered by Erasmus Mundus Masters Consortia;
  • Students will carry out a period of study in at least 2 of the 3 participating universities located in 2 different European countries. At a minimum, a consortium consists of at least 3 universities (A, B, C). Therefore students will undertake their studies at A+B, A+C, B+C or A+B+C. Scholars are not obliged, but should be invited to perform part of their scholarly work in a second institution within the consortium;
  • Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses lead to the award of a recognised double, multiple or joint degree;
  • An Erasmus Mundus Masters Course consists of 60 and up to 120 European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) credits at masters level thus lasting from 1 to 2 academic years;
  • The Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses cover an extremely wide range of academic disciplines: agricultural and forestry sciences, business studies and management sciences, communication and information sciences, education and teacher training, engineering and technology, humanities, law etc.

WHAT is an Erasmus Mundus Masters Consortium?

An Erasmus Mundus Masters Consortium is a group of at least 3 higher education institutions from 3 different European countries which has been selected by the European Commission (EC) to offer an Erasmus Mundus Masters Course.

HOW much is the Scholarship worth?

A student scholarship is awarded for the defined period of the Masters Course, up to a maximum duration of 2 years. The grant is € 24,000 per student for a 1-year course (travel expenses, tuition fees, monthly stipends, accommodation, etc) or € 48,000 per student for a 2-year course.

Stipends for scholars will cover a period of 3 months, namely € 14,800 per scholar (accommodation, monthly stipends, travel expenses, etc.).

Grants are paid to grantees directly through the Consortium.

HOW can I apply?

Students and scholars must apply for the Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses and Scholarships directly to the Erasmus Mundus Masters Consortium offering the particular course of interest. Applications cannot be submitted to the EC.

The specific requirements and admission criteria (e.g. study results, language skills etc) are defined by each Consortium and may vary from one Consortium to another.

There are currently 138 Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses available. A list of these Master Courses can be accessed here or it can also be searched using the Google Search by typing: “Erasmus Mundus List”. It is recommended to check the website at regular intervals as new courses will be added.

WHEN is the deadline for applications?

Application deadlines for one Masters Course to the other are different and set by the Consortium. They may vary from early December to late January. Please check individual Master Courses for further details.

An Erasmus Mundus Masters Course normally starts between August and November.

WHERE can I find more information?

Before contacting the EC or the EU Delegation, you are strongly advised to read the comprehensive list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ). It is very likely that you will find the answer to your question there.

To obtain information which is not available on the above-mentioned web-site, you may send an email to

You may also visit the website managed by Indonesian Erasmus Mundus Alumni at: and